home image
about the Haiku Society of America page
how to join page
hsa meetings page
Frogpond magazine page
newsletter page
annual contests page
haiku collections page
HSA member anthology page
contact us page



HSA Regions

Mountains Region

This region includes Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, and Wyoming.

The Mountains Region of the HSA consists of nine states, so its members are scattered—the largest concentration tending to be in Colorado. The size of the region and its small membership numbers have made it difficult for haiku poets to sustain groups that can meet on a regular basis. While forming groups has been and will continue to be a challenge, a number of Mountains members have distinguished themselves as individuals within the HSA and the greater haiku community as editors as well as poets, with haiku published in the leading haiku journals. Through the Internet, Mountains members stay up to date with the HSA and the haiku community, and have made meaningful contacts with other haiku poets inside and outside the Mountains region. If you would like to know more about us, or learn about the opportunities available to you in the region, please contact the Plains and Mountains regional coordinator.

Regional Links

Haiku Times by Jonathan Machen

Montage Archives, The Haiku Foundation, edited by Allan Burns http://www.thehaikufoundation.org/publications/montage/

Ann K. Schwader (Colorado)

Gary Schroeder Profile at Poets & Writers Directory

Donna Pohlmann Blog

Chad Lee Robinson Profile at Poets & Writers Directory

Allan Burns interview on Blogging Along Tobacco Road

Ann K. Schwader interview on Blogging Along Tobacco Road

Chad Lee Robinson interview on Blogging Along Tobacco Road

Regional Member News & Events


Join the HSA


Regional Coordinator


Gary Schroeder
1429 Castlewood Drive
Franktown, Colorado 80116-9015


Former Mountains Coordinators

Pat Nolan, 2012-2013
Chad Robinson, 2011-2014
Steve Tabb, 2016 - 2019



Home | About the HSA | How to Join | Frogpond | Newsletter
Annual Contests
| Haiku Collections | HSA Anthology |
Contact Us